Hail The Mighty Thumper

Distillation methods and improvements.

Moderator: Site Moderator

haggy
Swill Maker

Hail The Mighty Thumper

Post by haggy »

I am a drinker of whiskey and gin, but too old to be a distiller. However, I have developed something that may be of interest and help to some forum members; an Excel computer model of the pot/thumper operation.

I am a retired Chemical Engineer whose work for 40 years in the industry involved the design, startup and optimization of various commercial operations. A major part of this work was to develop a computer simulation model of the chemical process and use it to guide the work.

These last 10 Covid months of I have been going back and redoing some of this work, and then in July, I stumbled on batch distillation and became interested in ethyl alcohol (moonshine) distilling calculations. I first modeled the pot still operation and got good agreement with the calculations of this forum and with Hugelwilli of hobbybrennan.ch.

Then I became hooked :roll: on the thumper operation and for the last two months have been trying to develop a believable Excel computer model for it. I joined this forum in September and have read many, many posts and found about 20 posts with some good data on pot/thumper runs to verify the model. Key contributors of good run data were Kareltje, Usge, Beerswimmer, Corene1, Midnight Brewer, Truckinbutch and Moonshiner67. :thumbup:

I will discuss the model details and run data examined in future posts for those interested. It is based on basic chemical engineering theory for mass transfer, heat transfer and VLE. It predicts the pot and thumper gallons output, instantaneous %ABV and cumulative %ABV, pot and thumper liquid contents,volume and temperature, pot KW and more during the course of the run. Input data is only starting pot and thumper gallons and % ABV, and the run length (time).

The data and model covers this range:
Pot: 4 to 13 gallons and 0% to 40% ABV