New Wine Making Equipment

Alcoholic beverages which are not classified as spirits.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Euphoria
Site Donor
Site Donor

New Wine Making Equipment

Post by Euphoria »

Well, since I have been brewing beer for many years, and have been distilling now for a few as well, I have never before made wine, so I decided to splurge on a nice heavy duty fruit masher and a new 5 gallon press with a stainless steel pressing drum. I probably could have purchased a lot of "store bought" wine for the money I invested, but then, it's a part of this hobby, just another diversion. Even though I have been wanting to play with my new toys, fresh fruit is not really in season here, (or else imported and ridiculously expensive,) so my first batch is currently a 6 gallon "box kit" of Old Vine Zinfandel, which I'm using just to become a bit more familiar with the processes of making wine. Just taking it one step at a time. Hope they turn out good since this wine making stuff is all new me. Maybe down the road when I become a little more comfortable with the wine making process, I may even try to make some brandies, but that's looking far down the road. I'm especially looking forward to next fall when our fruit trees come into fullness. I think that it will be even more rewarding to be able to use my own fruit as opposed to purchasing it. But then, I might wind up having to buy more to supplement what I grow with more fruit anyway because I think this will be addictive. Since this is a first for me, I'm sure I'll have a big learning curve to contend with. :lol:
wine 001.JPG
wine 002.JPG
"Government doesn't have the answer to the problem, government is the problem." Ronald Reagan
cranky
Master of Distillation

Re: New Wine Making Equipment

Post by cranky »