All Molasses Rum

Anything to do with rum

Moderator: Site Moderator

Cabron99
Site Donor
Site Donor

All Molasses Rum

Post by Cabron99 »

And am I excited!! Been reading a ton here and finally decided to incorporate some ideas from a few different recipes. I picked up 5 gal of feed grade molasses for 28 bux. Not bad.

18 lbs molasses
pinch of Epsom salts
1 tsp DAP
1 tsp oyster shells
Water to 6 gal total
7 tblsp Red Star bread yeast

I didn't expect much reaction and was planning on adding a sugar syrup later, but it took right off within an hour. Have no idea what the gravity is, but I think it roughly equates to 9lb sugar. Brewhouse has a wonderful molasses smell and I'm dusting off the still. Its a reflux/pot 3in column. I think I'll run it as a straight pot still.

I'm 73 but I feel like I'm about 11. Any and all comments welcome; I'm just a beginner.
"Life is too short for cheap cigars"
Cabron99
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: All Molasses Rum

Post by Cabron99 »

Guess nobody is as excited as I am! I remain undaunted. Still bubbling on exuberantly.
kiwi Bruce
Distiller

Post by kiwi Bruce »

Yay! Go Cabron99 :clap: excited for you... Yay!

It's summer...the rum heads are slow to react...or jealous, more likely
Maybe the Oz and Kiwi rum pots will chime in and give you a big :thumbup:
Getting hung up all day on smiles
NeckStiller
Novice

Post by NeckStiller »

Cabron99

I feel your excitement too! Haha. And it won't be long before it's ready to run. I've got an all molasses bubbling as I write this. It, too, will be my first. My prior generations were a molasses/raw sugar combo and while I fully enjoyed them I thought it was time to dabble.

I actually used dunder from these runs in the wash and I'll use tails and heads to charge my the thumper along with some dunder.

Good luck! You and I should be making runs about the same time. ..LOL
fizzix
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by fizzix »