American Malt Whiskey

All styles of whiskey. This is for all-grain mashes.

Moderator: Site Moderator

8Ball
Site Donor
Site Donor

American Malt Whiskey

Post by 8Ball »

Here is my American Malt Whiskey recipe. It uses a little backset, some of the best grains available and plain ol’ barley from the feed store that I malted, toasted, and smoked. I’m working on the 4th fill of my 5G Gibbs cask which I will dump in two years.

I’ve made 6 runs so far and the flavor is very good for a young whiskey. I’m not good at describing the flavor profile, but if you like a rich, clean, smokey malt with a little rye kick, then this should work for you.

I use a 5G all copper Clawhammer pot with 24” Liebig.

Grain Bill (Pounds)
4.00 Maris Otter Pale Ale 24%
4.00 Simpsons Golden Promise 24%
2.00 Simpsons Peated 12%
4.50 Smoked Golden Malt (Feed Store) 27%
1.50 Rye Malt 9%
0.50 G. Honey Malt 3%
0.25 Caramunich 1.5%

16.75#
Target OG 1.067

Adjuncts
1/4 tsp epsom salts (couple pinches)
2 tablespoons gypsum
1 teaspoon alpha amylase powder - optional (I use it)
Pinch Pure Vitamin C (pure ascorbic acid)
2 tablespoons Fermax
1 B-complex
1 multi-vitamin
2 ml each SebStar HTL/Amy-G - optional (I use them)
1 QT backset
1 teaspoon citric acid - optional
Oyster shells, crushed, tied in a cheesecloth sack

Yeast Starter (12 hours prior to pitch)
1. Hydrate 15g FermPro-900 & 11g US05 @ 93F with a dash of Fermax.
2. Add 2 oz converted mash after 30 minutes.
3. Prepare starter at cool down start. Let sit overnight.
4. Add a spoon of clear mash in the morning to wake it up.
5. Pitch into mash @ 85F +/- 3 degrees.
6. Should have a good grain cap 4 hours after pitching

Step Mash
7G water @ 110F with adjuncts
Add grains while power stirring.
Acid & Beta Glucan Rest:
95F-113Fx30 minutes, pH: 5.77
add HTL & Amy-G, then slowly up to
Protein Rest (reduce puking):
113F-128Fx30 minutes, pH: 5.71
then slowly up to
Gum Rest (for unmodified grains, but I do it anyway):
131F-137Fx30 minutes,
pH: 5.71