Help with FUNKY Rye wash

All styles of whiskey. This is for all-grain mashes.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Panamigo
Novice

Help with FUNKY Rye wash

Post by Panamigo »

Two days ago I made my first all grain wash for a rye whiskey. This is my first attempt at any kind of whiskey recipe and I threw it together on a whim, just felt like brewing something spur of the moment and I figured it couldn’t turn out too bad, so in all honesty it’s rather ham fisted and unrefined, please be merciful 🙏

11 lb malted rye
4 lb raw Red Wheat (unmalted seed wheat)
2 lb 2 row Barley malt
.25 lb light DME
1 lb white table sugar

Mashed at 165 degrees Fahrenheit for 85 minutes (meant to do the standard 60 minutes but got distracted at the end) brew in a bag with a 20 minute batch sparge just to wash out any leftover sugars. Cooled to 70 degrees and pitched a yeast starter that had been going for about four hours (Nothing fancy, just Fleishmann’s activated yeast, i would usually give it longer and use a better yeast, but again, spur of the moment) plus a pinch of dry yeast on top and 1/2 tsp of Wyeast yeast nutrient.

No gravity readings for you unfortunately, I was dumb and rolled my hydrometer onto the tile floor that very night and it was too late to run to my LHBS.