Flaked rye and flaked corn

All styles of whiskey. This is for all-grain mashes.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Cabron99
Site Donor
Site Donor

Flaked rye and flaked corn

Post by Cabron99 »

So, this is embarrassing. Been brewing better than average beer for 12 years or so, but never with flaked grains to any extent. One might think its a simple thing to step up to mashing a mix of flaked corn and rye for a rye whisky. At 74 years old I was looking for another adventure. BTW I've been distilling for about 18 months and am quite satisfied with the rums and UJSSM I make. Let's cut to the chase:
15lb flaked corn
20lb flaked rye
15 gal water
combined at 165 for mash and hydration
What a stuck mess.
First stuck mash of my career. I ran it through Beersmith, after much research on this delightful site. I guess I just don't get it. I added more hot water up to 20 gallons, max capacity. Oops for got to say I added a crapton of enzymes. All to no avail. As a last resort I divided it between 5 six gallon fermenters (about 3 gal ea) and topped off with more RO water. Left it until morning and added bread yeast to all. It is now bubbling away happily but I know I've engineered a massive FU. Without too much derision, I'm old and brittle, what should I have done and or where should I go from here??
I am a donor to this site, but mostly silent. Also if I should have posted in a different forum feel free to move me.

pao
"Life is too short for cheap cigars"
Demy
Master of Distillation

Re: Flaked rye and flaked corn

Post by Demy »

No mockery, not from me. For better or worse we all mess up every now and then ... I don't know if I understand correctly but you had problems in filtration right? It occurs to me that perhapsle the husks of cerealsthat create a filter bed are missing, perhaps in combination with a partial work of the enzymes.
zach
Swill Maker

Post by zach »

Sounds like you may have exceeded the enzyme temperature at 165?