High Ester Bourbon

All styles of whiskey. This is for all-grain mashes.

Moderator: Site Moderator

OtisT
Master of Distillation

High Ester Bourbon

Post by OtisT »

Howdy folks.

I have been doing a lot of reading about and playing with the creation of esters in rum and bourbon. I recently spent a lot of time torturing some rum in the thread “High Ester Rum” and I want to do the same with a bourbon. I am not abandoning the rum thread. I simply want to make something while I wait for my dunder infection to grow. While the two process are similar, at least initially, I am expect differing results between the two.

I’m no expert, for sure. This is just educational for me and a good way to document what I do as I go. Like my rum thread, I intend to run through this process a few times to refine the process and I hope to keep it up through some aging reports.

I’m starting with the Honey Bear Bourbon (HBB) recipe and process I love so much and will be going from there. On this first run I will be using infected backset and feints from a run of chocolate bourbon I did 5 or so months back.

Here are some of the processes and ingredients (outside of the normal HBB) I plan to use specifically for the purpose of affecting esters in my product:
• Use infected backset in the ferment
• Manage PH of the ferment for esters
• Use a yeast known for ester production
• Let the finished ferment stew with that backset a while
• Use a slow warm-up and a reflux period to encourage fischer-spier esterification during strips
• Add a mix of fresh dunder and feints to the Spirit Run charge
• Use a slow warm-up and a reflux period to encourage fischer-spier esterification during spirit run
• Make appropriate cuts – look for goodness on the edges
• Allow adequate time in a proper bourbon barrel

When all this is done, I need a minimum of 8 liters at barrel strength to fill my Badmo barrel, and I would like a liter to drink white. Let the games begin. :-)

Otis