Shochu recipe

Grain bills and instruction for all manner of alcoholic beverages.

Moderator: Site Moderator

nomadstil
Novice

Shochu recipe

Post by nomadstil »

Hey everybody,
I am new to distilling but have wanted to make a drink called shochu for awhile and wondered if anyone on this forum has made this before. For people who don't know, shochu is a drink that is made from Koji (rice that has been infected with Koji mold) and sweet potatoes. After fermentation, it is distilled and then watered down to anywhere between 25% to 35%.The recipe i am using is a modified sake recipe. Was wondering if other people have made this drink and what they think of the recipe.I would also like to get people's input the cuts to make for this drink. I am not sure if I should only harvest the hearts or should i try to harvest more tails then most other drinks due to the fact that i will be watering it down to such a low abv?

wine/sake yeast
30 lb. (13.6 kg) steamed sweet potato
7.5 lb. (3.4 kg) koji rice
11.5 mL 88% lactic acid
0.4 oz. (12 g) DAP or fermaid K
0.07 oz. (2 g) Epsom salt
0.74 oz. (21 g) Morton Salt Substitute
6 gallons (23 L) reverse osmosis or distilled water

Thanks
Hillbilly Popstar
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Shochu recipe

Post by Hillbilly Popstar »

I had some Sochu that was made from koji rice, corn, and barely.

It was fantastic!
"Making likker with a hydrometer and thermometer is like measuring the length of a 2x4 with a clock"
SGB
Swill Maker

Post by SGB »

How did it come out? Lots of sweet potatoes and rice here on the island. I'd be interested in this.
Yummyrum
Global moderator

Post by Yummyrum »

I made some from just jasmine rice and used chinese yeast balls as they contain the necessary koji to convert the rice starch to fermentable sugar as well as yeast to start it off .

Turned out well although I double distilled it .
I had to lookup Morgans Salt substitute . I’m guessing its Potassium Chloride .
Where did you get the recipe from ?