So whats wrong with Turbo's

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Ethan Olic
Novice

So whats wrong with Turbo's

Post by Ethan Olic »

I am a self confessed novice, I have done maybe a dozen 26 ltr sugar washes in the last 6 months using a Still Spirits Turbo 500 still (OK I know people have issues with these stills but having used it I can only surmise that they either don't read the instructions or are trying to use it a for what its not designed. Mine works perfectly and predictably everytime producing 93% ABV. I would have liked to self build and still may someday but I wanted to get into home spirits production not plumbing and dont have the skills or tools anyway).

I have studied as much as I can regarding different washes and never wanted or intended to use turbo yeasts, I used the Turbos supplied with the still (7Kg white sugar in 25 ltrs, fermented to 990 or better with perfect results) and then tried a succession of different recipees based on wheatgerm or tomato paste using Youngs Super Wine yeast (high alcohol tolerance) and 5Kg or less sugar, I have had a succession of mediocre or failed fermentations, always very slow (one wheatgerm recipee took 6 weeks and then stopped at 1.05), I never got to 12% ABV with any of them. In frustration I reverted to Alcotec Turbo 48 for my last 4 washes, same sugar and water, they all finished in about 4 days and went to about 16.5% ABV. So the question is WHATS WRONG WITH TURBO'S.