The Feints Run Myth

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

sounder_4
Swill Maker

The Feints Run Myth

Post by sounder_4 »

I just completed yet another disappointing UJSSM feints run. 5 gal charge, made conservative cuts....saved 2 liters of basically off-flavor crap. I keep reading about the magical feints run and the nectar it supposedly produces. I've been doing feints runs for a couple of years and have never yielded whiskey anywhere near the quality of the original spirit run. It always ends up tasting musty and slightly unpleasant. Next spirit run, all but the keeper stuff goes down the drain. Waste of energy and time.
heartcut
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: The Feints Run Myth

Post by heartcut »

I do feints runs in a reflux still at right around azeo and they turn out well- concentrated heads for the shop and the ants, some good neutral and tails for the drain.
heartcut

We are all here on earth to help others; what on earth the others are here for I don't know.

W. H. Auden
Jimbo
retired

Post by Jimbo »

I can testify all feints runs work great for all grain whiskies and apple brandy. Not sure about sugary stuffs.
In theory there's no difference between theory and practice. But in practice there is.
My Bourbon and Single Malt recipes. Apple Stuff and Electric Conversion
Truckinbutch
Angel's Share
Angel's Share

Post by Truckinbutch »

Quit trying to drink a feints run right off the still . Air it , blend it , and put it on oak . Forget about it for a year or so and then try it . Why do you think they call the middle of the run the hearts ? That's where the best quick drinkin is . The rest takes time to get good .
If you ain't the lead dog in the team , the scenery never changes . Ga Flatwoods made my avatar and I want to thank him for that .
Don't drink water , fish fornicate in it .
sounder_4
Swill Maker

Post by sounder_4 »