Home setup

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

red_p30
Novice

Home setup

Post by red_p30 »

Hi folks. I'm a newb here, but have been doing some reading so slowly getting these concepts in my head. I'm trying to decide which still to get. I like vodka, so from what I gather, it looks like Reflux Still is the way to go on this. However I have a two concerns, I was hoping to get some advice:

1. I'm tight on space. I don't have a lot of garage space and have limited kitchen counter space, so I'd like to keep the size of the device as small as practical. From what I've read, a standard wash size is approximately 25L, which yields over 7 liters of 40% alcohol, after the distillation and dilution is done. This amount of alcohol would probably last me a year, so I'm not in need of large-scale equipment. I'm also leaning towards buying a still, preferably with minimal assembly. I'm not the great with soldering, drilling, cutting etc, so if something is easy to assemble, all the better.

2. My other concern is I may not have easy access to running water source. The reason is my kitchen tap has an attachment that does not easily come apart, so this makes it challenging to connect the kitchen tap directly to the condenser. Are there ways around this? For example, if I fill a large plastic container with ice water bath, is there a way to make this continually flow through the condenser unit and recycle the water? Or perhaps adding ice to the condenser unit to keep the water cool as it does job?

Thanks for everyone's help. PS: If there are folks out there who have purchased stills, and would recommend it, I'd be open to that. Feel free to PM or reply to help other folks out.
TunaSquat
Novice

Re: Home setup

Post by TunaSquat »

I'm new as well, so I'll just briefly touch on point 1.