The importance of patience

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Honest_Liberty
Rumrunner

The importance of patience

Post by Honest_Liberty »

Greetings everyone!

I am still new to this wonderful artform. I've run 6 strip runs of the T&T Sweetfeed, one Booner's casual (semi-failure) on my end that turned into a UJ, and two Odin's Rye Bread sugar head (one with store bought and one with my own Maillard Reaction process attempt. At first I attempted to keep the hearts of the initial runs in my Stainless Steel Brewhaus 16gallon pot still with copper scrubbers in the column, but found the depth of flavor lacking. So during this past 8 months, i've saved nearly all the collection (minus foreshots and anything after 15% collection, which is where I decide to stop) in separate gallon jugs, and now I have 11 gallons of low wines at 40%. This is why I'm discussing patience with newbies, such as myself, who may have thought (mistakenly) just like myself, that you can just produce high grade spirits within a few tries. How silly to think such a thing! Anywho, I'm not known for patience, but already having a few gallons sitting for a few months, even the low wines are gloriously wonderful in the nose, with a surprisingly drinkable flavor. This is all mainly SF, so the molasses is really coming through like a wonderful wild carribean rum. If it weren't for the likely horrendous hangover, I would say it is good enough to age for those with a less discerning palate. I'm going to run my first dedicated spirit run tomorrow with 11 gallons low wines and a gallon of the Booner's backset, so I'm obviously a newbie. However, as far as I'm concerned, I don't care if a toddler tells me to be patient, he's probably correct.