Weird sound coming from outlet pipe

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

nsgibson
Novice

Weird sound coming from outlet pipe

Post by nsgibson »

Hi everyone,
I have just finished construction of a copper potstill, 5 gal (actually 4.5), column 18"L, 1.5" ID, Liebig condenser which is 1/2 tube inside 3/4" tube 16" long. Electric with 1500W element. I based my design off the Clawhammer 5 gal design, looks identical. I did the cleaning run and ran my first strip run on a batch of UJSSM. Good results, no leaks, at full power I can get a good stream coming out of the outlet pipe. I am new to this but it seems like all is well. However, I am getting a sound coming from the outlet pipe that in all my reading have not came across and didn't expect. It's best described as air huffing, about 7hz or 7 "puffs" per second. This is with pretty good distillate output. I have only run twice but seems to appear midway through the run and stays. If I cover (briefly) the output pipe with my finger it goes away so I know that's the source. So I have a few questions:
1) is this normal or abnormal
2) if abnormal, is it due to a mis-sizing of one of the components like the column or the condenser? I thought I would avoid this by shamelessly emulating a design being sold.
3) is there a safety issue? E.g. Could there be excess vapor? Like I said I am gettting very good condensing and output.
4) would any additional info help?

Appreciate any feedback!! You guys have made possible all of my progress so far. So excited about contributing in the future.
greggn
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Weird sound coming from outlet pipe

Post by greggn »

"Huffing" (you got that term right) is caused by vapor collapsing violently in the presence of excessively cold coolant water. Try dialing back your flow and make sure the coolant enters at the bottom of the liebig.

I drank fifty pounds of feed-store corn