Brewzilla - Robobrew 35L 3.1 - Alcoengine Reflux Still

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

kakashi
Novice

Brewzilla - Robobrew 35L 3.1 - Alcoengine Reflux Still

Post by kakashi »

This post is here to document my learning experience using the Brewzilla Robobrew 35L 3.1 system with the Alcoengine Reflux still. This is my first still, so if you are just beginning, it may be worth the time to read to see what I did wrong. While this setup is designed to be sold together and works together, there are a few things you need to know that aren't in the user manual. I'm not an expert by a long shot, just a fellow distiller learning and sharing what he can.

There's only two things about my setup that aren't in the title:
  • I have the wetsuit for the boiler - it saves on power to boil but will also affect observations regarding power input vs boil temps, etc.
  • I bought the 4mm probe kit for the temperature monitor so I can sit and watch TV while keeping an eye on the temps at the top of the still. I love this thing, it's worth the bucks and time spent pulling apart your thermostat to get the convenience. I can see the temps from my PC, and when I go and sit in my comfy chair to watch TV I can turn the display around and watch it from there.
It's a reflux still so the first thing I did was brew a turbo-yeast and run it through in reflux mode. Don't be like me, don't brew turbo-yeast. Make a Birdwatcher's or something better. That turbo-yeast run is still in a 5L demijohn and is likely to be starting fires for me this Winter.

Using the setup is pretty simple if you are doing a spirit run:
  • make sure to install the 0.6mm fitting they supply
  • fill the vessel with the wash
  • turn on both elements, give it all 2400 watts
  • bring the wash up to roughly 60 degrees celsius
  • make sure to turn on the water supply to the condenser now - not doing it till now saves on water if that's a factor for you