what just happened

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

smokeybowls
Novice

what just happened

Post by smokeybowls » Thu May 28, 2020 12:17 pm

DISCLAIMER I ONLY DISTILL WATER AND THIS IS ALL IN THERORY. DISTILLING IS ILLEGAL IN U.S.

I am fairly new to this hoddy but I figured I would share this experience. Maybe it will help someone else or just give all you pros a good laugh 😂. This is what happened.

Just finished fermenting a 5 gallon wash . It was an experimental recipe . 5 lbs corn ,3 lbs raisons, 2 lbs of raw unfiltered honey and 10 lbs sugar .
OG was 1.100 and FG was 1.030. I probably should of let go few more days but that's beside the point . I charged boiler and off I go . This was a mile stone for me because I actually hit 130 proof for the first time . Everything was going great . Good taste and crystal clear . I ended up with 6 pints of my best spirit and best yeild I have been able to achieve since I began this hobby . Started collecting tails after 100 proof . I figured that would keep me away from tails. Collected one more pint jar of tails for later use . It was late but I decided to blend and bring down the proof before I call it quits. Blended in one big bowl and added spring water to bring down proof to 80 proof. Transfered to my filter and watch for the spirit to pass threw filter . Then I noticed it was cloudy . Pulled a glass from the bowl and dang it it all turned cloudy . Almost a gallon of cloudy spirit.
What a disappointment 😒 . After some research I learned i must of gotten some tails in my final product . I have a hard time tasting tails . I figured as long as I stop before it gets below 100 proof I should be good . Not the case at all . Lol .
My conclusion and what I learned .
Possibly too much sugar and I need to make smaller cuts and maybe blend the next day when my taste buds are well rested . Just thought I'd share my pain with everyone . Lol have a good day