Making mash

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Fuzzy head
Novice

Making mash

Post by Fuzzy head »

Hi guys,

I'm new to distilling so sorry if it's a silly question. First of all hope everyone is well and keeping safe.
I have a question about making mash and experimenting with different grains, flavours and sugar amounts. Is there a way to see what the taste would be before making say a 30 litre mash that produces 2 litres of alcohol. As I've found that the taste is totally different when distilled.

Many thanks for your time.
still_stirrin
Master of Distillation
Location: where the buffalo roam, and the deer & antelope play

Re: Making mash

Post by still_stirrin »

How big is your boiler? How do you plan to heat it?

With a small stove top still, like made from a stock pot, you can distill smaller amounts. So, building a small still would be a great idea, especially for a brewing rookie like yourself.

But, just understand that with a smaller boiler and a smaller wash, you’ll have less product to sample.
ss
My LM/VM & Potstill: My build thread
My Cadco hotplate modification thread: Hotplate Build
My stock pot gin still: stock pot potstill
My 5-grain Bourbon recipe: Special K
Twisted Brick
Master of Distillation

Post by Twisted Brick »

Fuzzy head wrote: Sun Jan 17, 2021 9:02 am Hi guys,

Is there a way to see what the taste would be before making say a 30 litre mash that produces 2 litres of alcohol. As I've found that the taste is totally different when distilled.
You can mash/ferment/distill in <5gal increments, but the cuts get progressively more difficult without experience. Sugar washes like UJSSM don't involve mashing, but you can fiddle with the grain combinations and get an rough idea of your taste profile.
“Always carry a flagon of whiskey in case of snakebite, and furthermore, always carry a small snake.”

- W.C. Fields

My EZ Solder Shotgun
My Steam Rig and Manometer
Prairiepiss