Same batch looks different.

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Justinthunder
Swill Maker

Same batch looks different.

Post by Justinthunder »

This is my first attempt at a ujssm, I’ve done some apple Brandy and some oat and rye whisky. So what I have done here is I boiled 7.5 gallons of water, added 14lbs of sugar and stirred it then added 14lbs of milled corn. Then I added the rest of the water to help cool it at the end. The only difference is that I opened a new bag of the exact same corn. The one on the right almost looks like I have added malt. It’s thinner than the other but also has floaties on top rather than a thicker porridge like the other. Any one have any thoughts? I’d hate to lose a whole ferment because of something small.
F5CDBAD6-E8B0-4C1C-AD46-B6667C454476.jpeg
Hambone
Rumrunner

Re: Same batch looks different.

Post by Hambone »

Bag to bag differences happen. Sometimes at mills you can end up with mixtures of grains when they change what they are running…

Because in UJSSM the corn is for flavor instead of starch, I doubt there would be any problem.
Good judgement is the result of experience.

Experience is usually the result of bad judgement..
NZChris
Master of Distillation

Post by NZChris »

Could it be because the temperature was different when adding the corn?

The UJSSM method doesn't use enzymes, so you don't want any gelatinization happening, which is what happens when you put corn into hot water. If you don't have enzymes to add, you might be in trouble.
Justinthunder
Swill Maker

Post by Justinthunder »

NZChris wrote: Sun Jun 20, 2021 7:00 pm Could it be because the temperature was different when adding the corn?

The UJSSM method doesn't use enzymes, so you don't want any gelatinization happening, which is what happens when you put corn into hot water. If you don't have enzymes to add, you might be in trouble.