UJSSM - stirring?

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

stogie
Novice

UJSSM - stirring?

Post by stogie »

Couldn't figure out the best place to insert this .......... but:
I've read many (but not all!) of the pages & pages of posts associated with the Uncle's sour mash recipe / method. Read the Wiki page as well. I see no reference regarding stirring. So, for the initial run:
1) Is the fermenter bucket stirred prior to adding the yeast? I know he says to place the ingred. in the bucket in order listed.
2) At the end of fermentation, is the bucket stirred to de-gas (before racking?).

In preparation of the 2nd run:
1) Is there stirring when adding the 3-3/4 gal to the bucket containing the 1st-run left-over corn?
2) And, how about stirring when adding in the 1-1/4 gal of backset and 'new' sugar?

I am a noob, having run only eight batches of neutrals in my 8-gal 'dual.' But I just want to get it 'right' according to the scholars herein.
Thanx in advance!
subbrew
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: UJSSM - stirring?

Post by subbrew »

I don't know if there is a right or wrong but I stirred the heck out of it when I added the sugar to start the next batch. Since I was not heating it to dissolve the sugar I used mechanical agitation.

I also stirred on the initial run before adding yeast because my corn contained some bits of cob and such. Stirring allowed it to escape and float to the top where I strained it off.

I didn't stir before racking as that would have stirred up yeast and such and I wanted to rack as clear as possible.

No expert here but that was my reasoning.
stogie
Novice

Post by stogie »

Thanx subbrew! I have been { like all 8-runs! :-) } stirring to de-gas after the yeast has quit, then let it sit another 24-hours to re-settle.
I appreciate the response............
subbrew
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by subbrew »