Why does distillation stop mid run?

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Still of the Night
Novice

Why does distillation stop mid run?

Post by Still of the Night »

I bought a 5 gallon pure copper alembic still a year ago. It's one of those round pot belly tank ones with what I heard called an onion on top and a neck to a worm. For heat source, I went electric for heat, an 8" diameter 1000W hot plate. Took me a few months to get how too's and recipes, etc. I did a vinegar cleaning run, all went well. couple of months later, I did a "sacrificial" run per instructions and a funny "recipe" I received. I am over a mile high so temperatures are different than at sea level. I studied those. I start the run, at 150deg F I start getting drips, I filled a quart quickly. Temperature got to just under 180deg F and had a good drip rate, filled five more quarts. Then, without touching anything, dripping slowed, temp was just over 180deg F. took an hour to get not even a quart. Then it stopped. Temp still at 180. I waited over 30 minutes and never started back up. while cleaning the still, I noticed a leak in one of the solder joints. I cleaned it and soldered it. Couple of months later I did a regular recipe, fermented two weeks, and did the run. Same thing happened, but much much much slower and worse, eight hours and not even three quarts. Temperatures and events the same, just slower and less volume. I have tried searching for this issue and doing research on processes too see if there is any mention of this. None. So I am reaching out to you fellow shiners. What causes distillation to stop mid-run?
Yummyrum
Global moderator

Re: Why does distillation stop mid run?

Post by Yummyrum »

Have you got your hot plate connected to a PID controller ?
NZChris
Master of Distillation

Post by NZChris »

Is the hot plate turned up to it’s maximum? If it is, you need a better heat source.
Rum Agol
Swill Maker