Getting up to Temp

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

TheoreticalJoe
Novice

Getting up to Temp

Post by TheoreticalJoe »

I'm still relatively new to this hobby and am looking for best practices around heating a pot still. I have a 15 gallon keg boiler with a 55k heating element. For a spirit run, I turn the power up on the element pretty high and then turn it back down once I see the first drops. I then regulate the power to get the desired drip/trickle/stream. Is that the best approach?

My concern stems from the fact that I am seeing my condensation temps (thermometer in the top of the riser, just before the elbow going to the condenser) jump from 140ish to 190ish in just a matter of minutes. To say it another way, it takes around 20 or 30 minutes to get up to 140 or so and then it seems like 5 minutes later I am at 185 or 190.

Should I run lower power from the beginning, taking longer to "get up to temp" or continue to do what I am doing?

I collect in half pint jars and have been doing cuts mostly based on smell, since I don't see a lot of difference in taste. I realize that a lot of things can factor into taste, just wondering if this is one I should worry about or do differently.
jonnys_spirit
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Getting up to Temp

Post by jonnys_spirit »

Sounds good to me. I’ll run 5k5W full power for approx 45min And then pull fores low and slow. As slow as I can stand. Then dial it up to a broken stream for the first few jars of heads and then a pencil lead sized stream (no one ever mentions which size pencil lead so that depends on your pencil lol). Collect fractions till into tails again then strip hard till done.

If I can time it right and dial back the power before fores starts then ease up into it nice and sneaky i feel extra kraftig then don’t really fiddle with it much except for the parts i mentioned.