Sugar Vs Corn

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

LionFishSlayer
Novice

Sugar Vs Corn

Post by LionFishSlayer »

Hello all, I am brand new with 2 runs under my belt. First run was a sugar wash with bread yeast. I was nervous about making cuts so after the first 4oz which was tossed (only a 3.5-4gal batch) I just collected 8oz at a time in separate jars until I hit 30 proof. As far as smell went I honestly couldn't tell much difference in any of them, taste obviously got weaker down the line but none tasted bad. I mixed them all together but the last 3 jars and it tasted great. Separated some and added oak chips to soak a few days and was even better! Tasted like whiskey. Next run was the flaked corn maize with malted barley and turbo yeast. Fermented on the grain. Collected in the same manner and this time there was a definite difference in the last jars, first jar was noticeably stronger with xtra bite and the middle 3 jars seemed the best of the bunch. Which is how I was expecting it to be the first time. On to the question..For me the sugar wash was much better than the corn. the sugar wash was crisp and clean where the corn seemed to have some weird flavors. Does the corn just need to age, did I do something wrong or does it just taste that way? ( I know, like you can taste it) But anybody that does sugar and corn regularly is there that dramatic of a difference?
rubberduck71
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Sugar Vs Corn

Post by rubberduck71 »

LFS, I see by your post count that you're very new to the site.

Suggest you heavily browse the Novice distiller pages, and especially Cranky's Spoon Feeding thread.

Basically it comes down to:
  • Make your product how YOU like it
    Read until your eyes bleed, wipe them off, & read some more
    The Search Bar in the top right of the page is your friend; or Google "your question" + homedistiller
    There are MUCH better alternatives than Turbo Yeast