Should I buy this

Simple pot still distillation and construction with or without a thumper.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Durhommer
Distiller

Should I buy this

Post by Durhommer »

Screenshot_20201116-174245_AliExpress.jpg
Should I buy this to go on my mile hi 8 gallon milk can
You have two ears and one mouth for a reason....
howie
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Should I buy this

Post by howie »

that's an odd set up to me, but i'm relatively new to this hobby.
it's got an RC but no real column to use packing, so if you're planning on high ABV neutral the answer is no (as is)
but you could add a couple of 500mm columns under the sight glass.
at least it's modular so you can add things, but i have seen far better rigs for similar (or a bit more) money
does it tell you how many pipes & plates in the RC & PC?
tombombadil
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by tombombadil »

What do you plan to use it for? What problem will it solve for you?
Deplorable
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Deplorable »

Do you already have a sight glass? Do you need a short deflag? Is the shotgun going to be efficient enough?
Honestly, I'd spend a little more and build out a copper 2" CCVM, but Im partial because I just finished doing that.
If you already have the money for that, continue to put money aside until you have the cash for the copper CCMV.
For about $200 to $250 you can build the CCVM and the 20 inch shotgun. Cheaper if you can find a score on copper pipe from a scrap yard.
If you're making satisfying booze now with the equipment you have, take the time to determine exactly what you want and buy/build your perfect still.
Fear and ridicule are the tactics of weak-minded cowards and tyrants who have no other leadership talent from which to draw in order to persuade.
Durhommer
Distiller

Post by Durhommer »

I need someone to build it for me I'm afraid I'll fuck it up and then I'd be pissed and wanting to quit. Like the one you just made would be nice but I dont think I could do it
Deplorable