Yummyrums Flute build

Vapor, Liquid or Cooling Management. Flutes, plates, etc.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Yummyrum
Global moderator

Yummyrums Flute build

Post by Yummyrum »

I've been building this for several years and finished it a few months ago . Its kicking around on a few other forums in various stages but here is the compiled version .
Funny thing is when you build a thing like this over such a long period of time , it becomes a work in progress operation and what you originally start to build gets changed . Priorities like budget , build simplicity get blurred and as you read and see others ideas and variations , the choices become overwhelming at times . Time also allows you to accumulate things ....like more clamps etc and again things change

So It all started when I did a job for an old plumber and he said he had some 4" copper .....and the rest is history :D

I loved Olddogs Flute with its brass sight glasses and very simple one piece construction . When all the tri-clamped stills appeared I was torn ....I loved the idea of the versatility but hate the look of all those bulky clamps :crazy:
So I decided Budget was priority and purchased my brass Cap and liners ( I think you call them t rap adapters in US ) thinking this would be my first and last major expense . It was going to be a slide in plated column with only two tri-clamps to hold on the Deflamator on .

So I started on the PC . I wanted to braze the whole thing so I could safely solder on the connections without an internal melt down . I only have Mapp gas so to heat things up to red hot , I used a single ring gas burner as a pre heater and used the Mapp to bring to red hot where I needed it .
Pipes cut and crimped , end plates drilled.jpg
Brazing PC.jpg
Brazing the PC.jpg
Fittings attached.jpg
Next up was the Deflagmator . Then it was time to do flanges .... I hate bashing out flanges so I decided to just make up some 1/4" pipe rings , braze the ends together , flatten and braze on .