Column still as Pot still ?

Vapor, Liquid or Cooling Management. Flutes, plates, etc.

Moderator: Site Moderator

levaninep
Novice

Column still as Pot still ?

Post by levaninep »

Hello, I am newbie here, I got column still with theoretical plates.

This is how it looks like.
243739661_543699790259357_290751980999055566_n.jpg
I usually do corn mash. But Now I have technical questions about still.

1) On the first run, I put inside the column 1 cooper net and do not use deflegmator. as usually get product with ABV % (30-50) depends on wash.

2) On second run, I put inside the column 3 cooper net. But now I have question, If I do not use the reflux chamber (deflegmator), is there any idea to put this cooper nets, will they work as plates without deflegmator? or it work as just pot still ?
Yummyrum
Global moderator

Re: Column still as Pot still ?

Post by Yummyrum »

Without reflux , its just a pot still .
But Copper mesh will be doing some good … it will be removing some bad Sulphur stuff . :thumbup:
levaninep
Novice

Post by levaninep »

Yummyrum wrote: Fri Nov 26, 2021 3:49 am Without reflux , its just a pot still .
But Copper mesh will be doing some good … it will be removing some bad Sulphur stuff . :thumbup:
Thank you for your answer, so if I put there even 5 cooper net, and use as pot still, it would be better (more cooper will be) thats right ?

I have problem with regulating water flow, when using reflux... Do you have any idea how can I regulate water flow in chamber ?
still_stirrin
Master of Distillation
Location: where the buffalo roam, and the deer & antelope play

Post by still_stirrin »

levaninep wrote: Fri Nov 26, 2021 4:15 am I have problem with regulating water flow, when using reflux... Do you have any idea how can I regulate water flow in chamber ?
Uhhhh….with a valve.

Split the water inlet into 2 streams: one to the product condenser and one to the reflux condenser. Then, you’ll be able to control the flow independently to each condenser.