Digital therm source ?

Fittings, parrots, packing, tooling and so on.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Post Reply
User avatar
FreeMountainHermit
Site Donor
Site Donor
Posts: 1769
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 6:45 pm
Location: Two Dogs Holler, West Virginia

Digital therm source ?

Post by FreeMountainHermit » Thu Dec 29, 2016 9:47 am

Looking for a digital therm without a preset default off time. Currently using a couple of my cooking therms but they shut off after 10-15 minutes of run time.

Zillions of them in my Google searches but no reference as to their default settings in the description .

Thanks, FMH.
Blah, blah, blah,........

User avatar
rgreen2002
Site Donor
Site Donor
Posts: 1288
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 2:57 pm
Location: Northeastern USA

Re: Digital therm source ?

Post by rgreen2002 » Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:13 am

FMH can you use something like this one: Https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00VJ8JS14/re ... SA8UOAPCW9" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow

If your looking for one more similar to a cooking temp (with that sliver "Spear") some multimeters have thermoprobe connections or a meat thermometer.

I have this one I use while mashing: https://www.amazon.com/ThermoPro-Wirele ... hermometer" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow

Here is one without the wireless side:
https://www.amazon.com/CDN-DTP482-Digit ... hermometer" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow
HD Glossary - Open this
A little spoon feeding *For New & Novice Distillers - start here
BEST WAY TO GET ANSWERS FROM HOME DISTILLER
"In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is."

User avatar
shadylane
Site Donor
Site Donor
Posts: 7342
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 11:54 pm
Location: Hiding In the Boiler room of the Insane asylum

Re: Digital therm source ?

Post by shadylane » Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:55 am

I've got a couple of these http://stilldragon.com/index.php/digita ... meter.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow
Their cheap, fairly accurate and never shut down. You have to take the battery out to turn them off. :lol:
Don't know how long it will run before the bat goes dead, but it's longer than 6 months.
There's also the STC1000 controllers that can be used as a thermo
https://www.amazon.com/Lerway-All-Purpo ... ds=stc1000" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow

User avatar
FreeMountainHermit
Site Donor
Site Donor
Posts: 1769
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 6:45 pm
Location: Two Dogs Holler, West Virginia

Re: Digital therm source ?

Post by FreeMountainHermit » Thu Dec 29, 2016 11:54 am

rgreen2002 wrote:FMH can you use something like this one: Https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00VJ8JS14/re ... SA8UOAPCW9" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow
Yeah RG, I can run some leftover speaker wire from the lawnmower up to the deck to power it. EEAZY PEEZY.

Thanks !!!! :clap: :wave:

Shady, I can't access SD ATM due to a bug or some sorta 'puter glitch till Larry identifies the problem.
Blah, blah, blah,........

User avatar
rgreen2002
Site Donor
Site Donor
Posts: 1288
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 2:57 pm
Location: Northeastern USA

Re: Digital therm source ?

Post by rgreen2002 » Thu Dec 29, 2016 1:30 pm

FMH.. take a look around Amazon. If you can tolerate the conversion to Celsius there are a lot cheaper ones there. Some even battery powered like Shady mentioned.
HD Glossary - Open this
A little spoon feeding *For New & Novice Distillers - start here
BEST WAY TO GET ANSWERS FROM HOME DISTILLER
"In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is."

User avatar
LWTCS
Site Mod
Posts: 11471
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 6:04 pm
Location: North Palm Beach

Re: Digital therm source ?

Post by LWTCS » Thu Dec 29, 2016 1:38 pm

FreeMountainHermit wrote:
rgreen2002 wrote:FMH can you use something like this one: Https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00VJ8JS14/re ... SA8UOAPCW9" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow
Yeah RG, I can run some leftover speaker wire from the lawnmower up to the deck to power it. EEAZY PEEZY.

Thanks !!!! :clap: :wave:

Shady, I can't access SD ATM due to a bug or some sorta 'puter glitch till Larry identifies the problem.

Sorry.
We are migrating to a new server.
Trample the injured and hurdle the dead.

User avatar
cranky
Site Donor
Site Donor
Posts: 5772
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 3:18 pm
Location: Pacific Northwest

Re: Digital therm source ?

Post by cranky » Thu Dec 29, 2016 2:16 pm

I use these from Harbor Freight http://www.harborfreight.com/instant-re ... 95382.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow they don't quit til you turn them off, the battery dies, or the wife puts them in the dish washer.

DFitz
Site Donor
Site Donor
Posts: 564
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:16 am
Location: Sleeping under a bridge near you

Re: Digital therm source ?

Post by DFitz » Thu Dec 29, 2016 5:34 pm

While monitoring your temp. Why not include a controller to maintain your temp goal?
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00OXPE8 ... ref=plSrch" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow

User avatar
rgreen2002
Site Donor
Site Donor
Posts: 1288
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 2:57 pm
Location: Northeastern USA

Re: Digital therm source ?

Post by rgreen2002 » Fri Dec 30, 2016 12:27 pm

Hey FMH...

I bought this a little while ago and it just arrived yesterday:
Celsius and Fahrenheit
Celsius and Fahrenheit
it is DC powered and wired with computer wiring harness with a pass through so you can hook a few together. It's got a temp range of -58°F - +230°F which suits my needs and should yours.. Also, cheaper than the others. I like it and just picked up a few others to replace my Celsius ones. Same type of thermo probe as the other one posted.


Link: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MS ... UTF8&psc=1" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow
HD Glossary - Open this
A little spoon feeding *For New & Novice Distillers - start here
BEST WAY TO GET ANSWERS FROM HOME DISTILLER
"In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is."

User avatar
FreeMountainHermit
Site Donor
Site Donor
Posts: 1769
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 6:45 pm
Location: Two Dogs Holler, West Virginia

Re: Digital therm source ?

Post by FreeMountainHermit » Fri Dec 30, 2016 12:49 pm

DFitz wrote:While monitoring your temp. Why not include a controller to maintain your temp goal?
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00OXPE8 ... ref=plSrch" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow
Thanks DF. Already have a controller. Simple knob job that's fairly linear. Old skool fer sure but it works.
Blah, blah, blah,........

User avatar
Bushman
Admin
Posts: 15558
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:29 am
Location: Pacific Northwest

Re: Digital therm source ?

Post by Bushman » Fri Dec 30, 2016 12:58 pm

cranky wrote:I use these from Harbor Freight http://www.harborfreight.com/instant-re ... 95382.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow they don't quit til you turn them off, the battery dies, or the wife puts them in the dish washer.
If you go with this style, (Ihave several) make sure the spear isn't to long for the diameter of your column.

User avatar
FreeMountainHermit
Site Donor
Site Donor
Posts: 1769
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 6:45 pm
Location: Two Dogs Holler, West Virginia

Re: Digital therm source ?

Post by FreeMountainHermit » Fri Dec 30, 2016 12:58 pm

rgreen2002 wrote:Hey FMH...I bought this a little while ago and it just arrived yesterday:
Kinda diggin' the one you sent earlier https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00VJ8JS14" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow

About as basic as it gets and in keeping with the K.I.S.S. principle as well.

Thanks ! :thumbup: :wave:
Blah, blah, blah,........

User avatar
FreeMountainHermit
Site Donor
Site Donor
Posts: 1769
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 6:45 pm
Location: Two Dogs Holler, West Virginia

Re: Digital therm source ?

Post by FreeMountainHermit » Fri Dec 30, 2016 1:04 pm

Bushman wrote: If you go with this style, (Ihave several) make sure the spear isn't to long for the diameter of your column.
Good point Bushy. Is the spear temp sensitive across its entire length ? I'm under the impression that they read off the point or at least fairly close based on the cooking probes I'm currently using.
Blah, blah, blah,........

Post Reply