Changing Spirit Run

Fittings, parrots, packing, tooling and so on.

Moderator: Site Moderator

JohnnyJumpUp
Novice

Changing Spirit Run

Post by JohnnyJumpUp »

Hey guys. I have a 1/2 keg boiler with a 2" column with copper mesh packing. Ive been making rum for the past 6 months (its all Ive veer made up to this point). Im currently fermenting hard cider and Im ready to make brandy. Should I run vinegar through my still before I run the brandy? How else can I neutralize the flavors left by other spirit runs?
fizzix
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Changing Spirit Run

Post by fizzix »

Unnecessary unless your still puked at some time. Vapor doesn't leave a taste "memory" that I've ever seen.
I have a reflux with copper mesh and I've run whiskey, followed by bourbon, then rum, vodka, and all corn. Multiples of each and never had a crossover battle of tastes by any means.
But again if you had a puke and your mesh is all polluted, I'd take it out and just wash the hell out of it.
rgreen2002
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by rgreen2002 »

fizzix wrote:Unnecessary unless your still puked at some time. Vapor doesn't leave a taste "memory" that I've ever seen.
I have a reflux with copper mesh and I've run whiskey, followed by bourbon, then rum, vodka, and all corn. Multiples of each and never had a crossover battle of tastes by any means.
But again if you had a puke and your mesh is all polluted, I'd take it out and just wash the hell out of it.
+1

I would say just take a peek inside the keg and be sure the molly from your rum didn't leave any solid residue that can be washed off. My all Molly rum always leaves a little sediment behind...
HD Glossary - Open this
A little spoon feeding *For New & Novice Distillers - start here
BEST WAY TO GET ANSWERS FROM HOME DISTILLER
"In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is."
DeepSouth
Swill Maker

Post by DeepSouth »