Minimum size still for a Parrot?

Fittings, parrots, packing, tooling and so on.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Mike6090
Novice

Minimum size still for a Parrot?

Post by Mike6090 »

Being an engineer I am prone to overthinking so i calculated out the volume of a parrot at about 6-8oz. If I have a 8 gal still running 5 gal batches and 3/4-1 gal total output would a parrot be all that helpful? I am running 8-16 oz cuts right now so it seems likely not... if I had a 15 gal still then sure... but then I am running reflux. Maybe a pot still should be run differently.
what say you?
Thanks.
still_stirrin
Master of Distillation
Location: where the buffalo roam, and the deer & antelope play

Re: Minimum size still for a Parrot?

Post by still_stirrin »

I don’t have a parrot.

I collect in small jars and measure the proof of the jar. Then I put a piece of masking tape on the jar and write the jar number (in the collection series), the date run, and the measured proof. Then, I cover the jar with a coffee filter and wait 24 to 36 hours to sit down and figure my cuts. Regardless of running a strip run, a potstill run, or a reflux run, I haven’t needed a parrot to make liquor.

Oh, and by the way, I’m a mechanical engineer too.
ss
My LM/VM & Potstill: My build thread
My Cadco hotplate modification thread: Hotplate Build
My stock pot gin still: stock pot potstill
My 5-grain Bourbon recipe: Special K
Yummyrum
Global moderator

Post by Yummyrum »

+1 still_stirrin
I don't go labelling the jars but do check ABV of each when I change jars .
If I'm doing a stripping run I might stick a measuring cylinder under the spout when I'm getting close to done just to see where I'm at .
Never needed a Parrot. But I see your question is probably about smearing in a parrot relative to the amount you collect .
To be honest if you are talking a Pot still here , there will be more smearing happening simply because its a pot still than the parrot will cause .