Analogue power controller

Fittings, parrots, packing, tooling and so on.

Moderator: Site Moderator

WhistlerKiwi
Novice

Analogue power controller

Post by WhistlerKiwi »

Hi all,
I am new to distilling and I am absolutely loving it.

I purchased the pot still and reflux head combo from copperhead stills. This still is similar to the T 500, having a comparable boiler, with a copper reflux head and a copper pot still head with Liebig condenser.

It seems like a great piece of kit to get me started, however, now having done a few stripping runs I do see some of the limitations and am looking for some help please.

I would like to slow down the pot still mode for my upcoming spirit runs and need a power controller to achieve this. I am after a simple analog dial one and I’m not sure where to purchase this in New Zealand.

I don’t know/think I need temperature control ability, just the ability to wind back the power input, so I can slow the rate of vapour down to 2 to 3 drips a second, rather than at a small run, which is the slowest it can currently achieve in pot still mode.

Any help would be much appreciated.
Cheers
Expat
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Analogue power controller

Post by Expat »

WhistlerKiwi wrote: Sat May 02, 2020 1:06 pm I don’t know/think I need temperature control ability, just the ability to wind back the power input, so I can slow the rate of vapour down to 2 to 3 drips a second, rather than at a small run, which is the slowest it can currently achieve in pot still mode.
Yup, you definitely need to be able to dial back the power.
Temperature control is useless and not what you want.

SSR power controllers are easy to build, and offer a nice analog control. Plenty of build threads here to research.

Edit:
To expand, the basic required elements required for a controller are:
- a box (metal or plastic) - available any big box store, or scavenged.
- a SSR (Solid state relay) - ebay or industrial suppliers (240V 40A)
- a potentiometer and a nob