Learnin' the hard way

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

longhaul
Novice

Learnin' the hard way

Post by longhaul »

I'm new to not only this forum, but also home distilling. I, probably like many newbies, took the advice of the guy at the brew shop. Ran first 2 runs with 17 pounds sugar and turbo yeast in a 21L wash at about 60 degrees F. I guess about the only thing I didn't do wrong was I didn't ferment it in a trash bag. I have since done an awful lot of reading on this site(thanks to all the contributors) and have acquired some necessary ( I hope) tools of the trade. I have a SG hydrometer, an alcohol meter, a 100 watt submersible aqaurium heater, and a digital thermometer with a water resistant probe. Just put together my first batch of birdwatchers, scaled to 20L. I'm hoping to get about 3.5L that doesn't smell and taste of yeast like those turbo runs. I did read a post where asomeone was getting a red tint in his distillate. I diluted my tomato paste in hot water added the lemon juice and poured that into a cavity in the sugar in my ferment bucket, theory is to let the sugar grind the remaining lumps of paste during stirring. Seems to have worked.
I am a pretty thick skinned old ex-Drill Instructor, so feel free to tell me I'm a dumbass, but please explain why you think so.
John Paul Jones: "He who will not risk, cannot win."
Stillatryin
Novice

Re: Learnin' the hard way

Post by Stillatryin »