Hello from the UK

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

Earlster
Novice

Hello from the UK

Post by Earlster »

Hey there,
I live in the north east of the UK and have been reading about distilling for a few months. Initially it was to lower some of the costs and improve the quality of the vodka infusions I have been making for quite a few years, but unfortunately you guys forgot to put a MASSIVE WARNING on the site telling us newbies that once you start reading about building stills it becomes addictive!
I've went through lots of research on what still I would like, I've also thought about what I want to do, initially I would be happy to make good quality vodka's but the more I read the more I want to try making rum and I'm getting obsessed with making absinthe. So I want a still that can do it all, and I plan on making a 4" flute, possibly with an extension to the number of plates I can use. I'm still learning (who of us isn't?) and I'm sure the design will change over time.
I have been quite close to buying a still, especially since there are some great ones available, I have no workshop right now, no space and my mobility is limited. A few weeks ago we got an out of the blue offer to buy our house, we had seen our dream home a year before and found it still on the market, so we are in the process of moving.. and this house has a great space for a workshop, so I'm planning on making a workshop/still room. To add to this of course I have virtualy no tools, so its time for me to so some research and see what I need to get to both put a workshop together and to build my still, as you can tell, I'm pretty excited about the prospect :clap: