My first still

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

Youngstiller
Novice

My first still

Post by Youngstiller »

First post on this forum so il say hey and introduce myself.

My names Andrew. I'm 18 and living at the top of the South Island in New Zealand. I've been brewing since 2009. In 2010 I started getting into distilling, bought a 5 L pot still and made some fairly awful tasting liquor but learnt a lot and ended up making some whiskeys and rum that my friends and family couldn't differentiate from shop bought

I'm currently building a 30 L in-line Boka style reflux distiller which I'm hoping will be a step up from the 5 L pot still I used to have. I'm posting this in hope that if I'm going about building this distiller wrong, someone will put me right. The design goes like this.

I'm using a 30L stainless steel pot that will have a 1 meter of 2"copper pipe attached to the lid and sealed using JB Weld.
The first 70 cm will be packed using 'pure' stainless pot scrubbers after this they'll be the thermometer port and ill use a sensitive digital cooking thermometer for this.
Then the plates and the take off pipe fitted with a stainless needle valve and then a 7cm dual coil made from 1/4" copper tube and the top will be left open. Does this sound right?

To seal the lid ill use flour paste at first but i want to eventually use a gasket made from cardboard and 4 pull down style clips to make a tight seal would this work?

The heat will come from a gas BBQ