Gday from Australia

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

Givit
Novice

Gday from Australia

Post by Givit »

Gday
First post, I have been brewing beer for a few years and always wanted to have a crack at spirits.
So as we do were i work lash out and internet spend, found myself with a 25lt "home spirit maker" refulx heading home in the mail.
From looking it must have a thermostatic valve built in.? wich my be a pain if i want to control, anyways anything can be converted once understood.
Then started reading.. :roll:
Found out i probably wanted a pot still but anyway it will be a start. it will be a turbo start cause its in the mail too,
Fermenting i understand so no point doing mash untill i find or build a pot still adaption. maybe a nice sugar wash till then.
Filling my head on this site and others trying to gain the theory.
Ive got grand plans but i realize like brewing start easy and work up to my 101 Bourbon Whiskey i like so much‎.
So i will keep dip feeding, looks like plenty of knowalage about this place, hence joining home distiller.
pounsfos
Distiller

Re: Gday from Australia

Post by pounsfos »

hello form across the ditch

yup, you got the foundations already, all it is now is to learn how your still works, and making cuts
everything can be found on here, and everything else is practice :)
thecroweater
retired

Post by thecroweater »

Yep you'read catching on and the good new is a pot still is quite cheap to make and pretty much anyone can do it with a very dollars worth of tools. So what state are you from
Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety. Benjamin Franklin
Givit
Novice

Post by Givit »

Cheers thanks
I'm in WA