new guy in AZ

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

Dflowers10
Novice

new guy in AZ

Post by Dflowers10 »

Hello all, thank you for allowing me to join! I am new to this hobby and having fun so far. I have an 8 gal stainless / copper that I have been having fun with, I have 3 batches under by belt. I think they turned out well but am no expert as of yet. I am in Arizona in the south east valley, anyone local please feel free to say hello!

Don
Last edited by Dflowers10 on Mon Aug 22, 2016 6:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dflowers10
Novice

Re: new guy in AZ

Post by Dflowers10 »

Hi All,

So what I have been doing is:

5 gal h20
8.5 LBS flaked corn
1.5 LBS 6 row malted / milled barley
10 LBS sugar ( can i add another 10 LBS to increase volume of final product?)
1 packet of 175 g (6.17 oz) classic 8 turbo yeast (20 % ABV)

I ferment in a 6.5 gal carboy with airlock for about 30 days, normally done in 2-3 weeks but like to let it settle for a week

I understand that this is about as classic as a corn whisky one can do ( + or - the sugar, you thoughts on adding sugar?) is this a good recipe to start to learn with? I would prefer to stay as traditional as i can, not really looking to do a pure sugar shine.

I aslo under stand by reading here that turbo yeast is not preferred, any suggestions on a preferred yeast and how much to use? I want to try an different yeast, just unsure of how much to use, one little packet or more?

I heat on electric stove top at high heat, should i use medium heat for slower boil?

I have produced 4-6 pints from 130 pr down to about 118 pr on last pint. Sound about right?

I want to make sure i am doing this recipe correct as i am learning before i venture out in to others, ( I want to make a Bourbon once i know what i am doing more)