Welcome from Essex, UK

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

Dales59
Novice

Welcome from Essex, UK

Post by Dales59 »

Hi All,
Just joined. I'm a newbie to the site and HD'ing. My family have a history of wine and beer making and i have dabbled but not for past 20 years.

So, now in mid 50's and bug has bitten to get distilling spirits - vodka , gin etc.

So spent past 1 month watching Youtube, and selected AirStill. Picking it up in about 4 weeks. Seems most appropriate as not wanting to get into
larger T500 etc with water supply etc.

So Airstill appears great solution for a sugar wash and ability to use infusion basket for botanicals to create flavours or to add the bottle format flavours.

My one issue right now and what i want to use forum for initially is to work out if i can put other sugar washes thru it - say using wash created with
alcotec 48 or bakers yeast. Tried asking Airstill Retailer and all i am told is use of supplier yeast, carbon and clear means no heads created. So Airstill
is for absolute beginners. But they wont say if the warnings not to use any other products, is because they think owners are going to be so stupid not
to take heads out, or some technical reason with still.

Looks like lots of nights reading on this forum forthcoming. Any pointers greatly received.

Rgds
D
Mikey-moo
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Welcome from Essex, UK

Post by Mikey-moo »

Hi Dale, welcome to the Forum! You've come to the best place to learn about distilling at home.