New Learner

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

8531jarhed
Novice

New Learner

Post by 8531jarhed »

Hello to all and thanks for allowing me the opportunity to study up. I've been reading through the threads for a while now and it dawned on me that I haven't made my obligatory new guy post.

I'm a former jarhead near the AR/MO line. I'm at a stage in life where I'm banged up bad enough that I have more free time to explore different interests. I was a journeyman plumber for about 10 years after I got out of the Corps and have tried my hand at many other fields to feed the family or that just appealed to me. I love learning new skills to combine with well established ones. A perpetual tinkerer. 57 half finished projects... that sort of thing.

I truly believe that knowing how to make "fuel" is a skill that needs to be passed on. Unfortunately I'm also at an age where gleaning insight from those who could have taught me is no longer an option. I mainly just want to learn the tradition. I appreciate having y'all around to pick yer brain if I get stumped on something.

As far as my equipment goes... I've got a half barrel keg and 2" copper column 30" long w/ a Liebig. I recently got a 3 gal ss milk can for spirit runs or smaller mashes/washes for recipe development using the same column. I did get a heating element and built a PID controller yesterday to steer it so I don't have to mind the fire so much but still can if I need to. I'm on the hunt for a 1/4 keg just to have more options but they are harder to come by lately.

Once again, thanks to all for the opportunity.
"The problems that exist in the world today cannot be solved by the level of thinking that created them." ~ A. Einstein
fizzix
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: New Learner

Post by fizzix »