Hello from US South

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

instillonight
Novice

Hello from US South

Post by instillonight »

Hello everyone,
I'm just getting started in the hobby. My wife saw an ad for a cheap Chinese still, pot style with the open condensor on top. I searched online for cheap chinese stills and happened across George Duncan's yt. Ended up going with the 30l football looking column one after seeing his vid. Watched a bunch of his other vids. So now I have installed a water heater element with PID controller. And did a sweet potato ferment. In the meantime, I did a vinegar run first then the sweet potato mash. It turned out horrible. So looking to find out what I did wrong I found this forum. Also learned George isn't what he portrays himself to be, an expert. So many fakers ou there, MLM people, tv evangelists, Dr Oz, Dr Phil, etc, etc. Nothing to be done about them, so moving on. Turns out I made a pia sacrificial run of sweet potato vodka. Currently doing sugar wash, then probably a tpw, after that maybe a cracked corn mash if I can find some around here. Ultimately I want to make my own awesome bourbon. I did just order a copper parrot from Vengeance, on sale $55 shipped. Hope I am not breaking any rules by mentioning that.

Thanks for all the great info
HDNB
Site Mod

Re: Hello from US South

Post by HDNB »

hi welcome in.

we don't really care for a lot of u-tube videos here, they have some ideas that are, how would you say? less than informative? we have recently bashed around the reasons a PID is a poor choice for a heat controller and how that, and some other ideas by george may cause more problems than solutions.