New guy

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

cqjeffb
Novice

New guy

Post by cqjeffb »

Hello all, my name is Jeff and I'm an American living in Hong Kong. I pretty much travel for a living (well, I did before CoVid). I've always had an interest in brewing / distilling but my travel and frequent relocations didn't really allow me to jump into it the way I wanted. Now, "thanks" to CoVid I've finally found the time to dig into distilling. This was really driven home when I had 3 weeks of quarantine upon returning to Hong Kong (21 days in a 15X15 room ... couldn't step out). Did a LOT of reading and video watching, started ordering supplies (which take 1-3 weeks for delivery to Hong Kong) and generally got hooked.

My interests are in vodka/neutral spirits and in rum. I was loaned an AirStill a few weeks back and have since distilled a few bottles of wine, one run of my home brewed hard apple cider and two runs of rum - one just black sugar / molassas and one black sugar, molassas and bananas. I ordered a 38L combo still from Distillex that was delivered this weekend and have a 5.5 gal batch of coconunt sugar and a 5.5 gal white sugar wash going now that I hope to try my hand on next week.

From background perspective, I've probably watched 50-75 hours of Georges videos, a dozen or two of Jesse's on Still It and a few of Bearded and Bored. I've also read Making Gin & Vodka by John Stone and I've gone through the spoon feeding page and links here (obviously haven't read everything there). I've done most of my mashes from the "tried and true" page here.