First wine, now spirits

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

Dougmatt
Site Donor
Site Donor

First wine, now spirits

Post by Dougmatt »

Hi all,

I’ve been reading the board the last several weeks to try to understand the journey I’m embarking on. Thanks to all those who have been willing to share their knowledge and thoughts here as I’ve benefited greatly already. I am new to distilling, but have been making grape wine for several years (over 20 batches) and done some washes that I’ve consumed (ex: skeeter pee). Most of my learning in wine making came from a forum like this one first asking questions, then answering them.

My first, current and only still so far is a SpeakEasy 5 gallon still, running on a Duxtop induction plate. I made it through my cleaning runs, just finished my first strip run of a Cabernet brandy and have a sugar wash in my primary bubbling away. Next up planning a cornflake whiskey and then have the grains ordered for a bourbon. (Uh oh, seems like I’ve caught the bug!)

Thanks again for all the knowledge shared and hope to one day contribute some myself.

Doug
Archee72
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: First wine, now spirits

Post by Archee72 »

Welcome
subbrew
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by subbrew »

Welcome.
Might as well start reading the still build threads. I started last fall with an 8 gal still and soon discovered how much liquid must be distilled to get into the gallons of product instead of mere quarts. Been reading build thread ever since and have most of the parts for a CCVM keg still. Now I am reading and watching all I can on silver soldering and brazing.
Dougmatt
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Dougmatt »

subbrew wrote: Mon Jun 14, 2021 8:48 pm Might as well start reading the still build threads.