Noob in SoCal

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

cmac62
Novice

Noob in SoCal

Post by cmac62 »

I've been brewing for 6+ years and recently got an Anvil Foundry 10.5 and heard this is a good boiler for a still. I'm contemplating what kind of still to get, but will purchase in the next month or so. I like the flexibility of combo stills, but need to do lots of reading before I make up my mind. Look forward to learning lots from the folks on here.
SmokyMtn
Rumrunner

Re: Noob in SoCal

Post by SmokyMtn »

cmac62 wrote: Thu Jul 22, 2021 11:13 am but need to do lots of reading before I make up my mind.
Yes you do. No need to get in a hurry. Patience is the key to this hobby. Welcome and enjoy the read
My 9" Shotgun Condenser

This hobby really is not so much about making alcohol. But bottling opportunities to make memories with Friends and Family.
Demy
Master of Distillation

Post by Demy »

Welcome, I would think of a CCVM system as a base.
Bushman
Admin

Post by Bushman »

Welcome would love to see pictures!
Twisted Brick
Master of Distillation

Post by Twisted Brick »

Welcome, cmac!

Yes, reading is good! The learning curve looks formidable at first, but gets easier as you get after it.

It appears the 10.5 Foundry is tall (~29" and narrow (~12") and might be on the lighter side (compared to a keg). You might want to determine if the lid is stout enough to support the weight of a CCVM, particularly if running a longish liebig.

Adding still to homebrewing setup
“Always carry a flagon of whiskey in case of snakebite, and furthermore, always carry a small snake.”

- W.C. Fields

My EZ Solder Shotgun
My Steam Rig and Manometer
Saltbush Bill
Site Mod

Post by Saltbush Bill »

cmac62 wrote: Thu Jul 22, 2021 11:13 am I'm contemplating what kind of still to get