Bradster

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

Bradster68
Site Donor
Site Donor

Bradster

Post by Bradster68 »

Hello everyone. Excited to join. I'm new to mash making but am eager to learn. Its awsome that people can get together and help each other out. Iv made beer in the past but want to try something new .
MidgetFarms
Novice

Re: Bradster

Post by MidgetFarms »

Hi Bradster.

I'm more or less brand new to the hobby too.

I had the hardest time getting my first all grain to convert starch. If you don't want to use malted barley buy good Alpha amylase and study how to use it.

Both barley and amylase require good temperature control. 10 degrees too hot & you get nothing. 10 degrees too cold & you get almost nothing.

Read read read. There are a couple decent YouTubers but there are thousands of bad ones.

Welcome & be safe
Bradster68
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Bradster68 »

Nice to meet ya. I actually bought some amylase and used this time in my corn mash. Seems to make it ferment longer. Iv been reading my ass off. Wife is making jokes about my new obsession.
I drink so much now,on the back of my license it's a list of organs I need.
still_stirrin
Master of Distillation
Location: where the buffalo roam, and the deer & antelope play

Post by still_stirrin »

Bradster68 wrote: Tue Dec 07, 2021 4:57 am… Wife is making jokes about my new obsession.
Check out the “panty dropper” recipes in the T&T forum for her. I think you’ll make a believer out of her if you do.

Always “be safe, responsible, and discrete”.
ss
My LM/VM & Potstill: My build thread
My Cadco hotplate modification thread: Hotplate Build
My stock pot gin still: stock pot potstill
My 5-grain Bourbon recipe: Special K
Fletching
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Fletching »

Bradster,