No Still Yet Still No Idea

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

Rocky
Novice

No Still Yet Still No Idea

Post by Rocky »

Hi All,

I reside in Queensland, Australia - if you were to make Australia into 6 blocks I’m in the top right (for anyone unfamiliar).

First may I say what an amazing website and forum setup you have here. It is clear from the “small” (many hours) of reading I’ve done here the passion, interest and help available. I’m brand new to this hobby starting from some YouTube (keep reading it gets better) that ended up with me on this forums. It’s clear that there is a much larger plethora of information here - although I must admit watching videos is pretty easy.

I currently do not own a still. Im looking to transcend this problem but I’m not entirely sure in what direction to go. I started out thinking a 50’ish Litre Combo Still. Now I’m wondering go with a 50’ish L Pot Still. I lean towards pot still as I currently prefer the more flavourful spirits and it appears to be the beginners curve.

Am I missing anything? (Of course I am)

So I’m looking at either a 58’ish Litre Combo or Pot Still. I’d love for something to have the ability to develop from the originally setup although I know this makes things complex in either case… Please help me I think I have the bug…

Long time listener first time caller.
Oatmeal
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: No Still Yet Still No Idea

Post by Oatmeal »

Welcome! Not too complicated to have a variety of still heads that you can swap out once you settle on a boiler.
A pot still head is a great place to start, and something you will likely use always to strip, so have at it!
Through the magic of alchemy, our spirits live on.
Ben
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Ben »