Add water to the ferment before putting in the boiler?

Production methods from starch to sugars.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Rex
Novice

Add water to the ferment before putting in the boiler?

Post by Rex »

I am a newbie: I made some apple mash with some sugar. I used 20# crushed apples, 5# sugar and 25L of water. Used some enzymes and distillers yeast. It fermented out to a SG of 1.00 in a week. I cleared it nicely and it looked just like store bought apple juice.

Now …. Do you just put this in the boiler straight or do you mix some water with it first? Seems that if it is just straight that it is VERY difficult to control the temperature and hold it steady … even from the beginning. Running in pot mode it also seems very slow.

Recommendations?

If you used say all grain like corn would you do it the same way?
Grayson_Stewart
retired

Post by Grayson_Stewart »

What do you mean its difficult to control the temperature and keep it steady? It's going to seek out its ouwn boiling temperature based on the alcohol % in there and will run its course as it is supposed to.

And also you say this is an apple mash...then later in the post you say running in pot still mode also seems slow? Did you run this apple mash thropugh a column? If so why? That would remove more of the apple flavor and might as well just use a straight sugar wash.
Light travels faster than sound. That is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.
Yttrium
Swill Maker

Post by Yttrium »

Usually the only reason to add water to a mash before distilling is to make sure any internal heating elements will be completely covered by fluid during the whole distillation process. That being said, if you find that you get a better product by adding water, hey go for it, I'm not one to argue with success.
The future is not set. There is no fate but what we make for ourselves. --John Conner
Rex
Novice

Post by Rex »