What kind of rotation do you guys use?

Production methods from starch to sugars.

Moderator: Site Moderator

spiff
Swill Maker

Post by spiff »

Newbie here.. only got a few runs under my belt.. but I'm already seeing limitations to my 2 bucket fermentation rotation.. at the rate I'm going of a run a week, it'll be over a month before I even get my first real end result. (4 stripping then the spirit) So I ordered more buckets so now I have 6 fermenters going. Seeing six buckets bubbling away seems like a lot, but not when I think about the timing convenience it'll give me. I read that the wash can sit for a very long time so this seem like the way to go so I can make a run when I feel like it.

And this is just all for one recipe.. I couldn't imagine trying to create more than one recipe at a time.. I'm picturing people with a whole room of fermenters going to do something like that.

I'm just curious what most people do.
Last edited by spiff on Thu Apr 28, 2016 4:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
UnSub
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: What kind of rotation do you guys use?

Post by UnSub »

My "plan" (because I'm new also), is to do a large wash (40gallonish), rack into 5g buckets. That way I can run another recipe if I'd like while I do my stripping and spirit runs. I got 45 buckets for $20 from a local chocolate company. I'll have to see how it works though:)

I'll be running a 3" boka so my requirements may be different than yours.

I'm also interested in how others schedule their stuff

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
spiff
Swill Maker

Post by spiff »

Ah, nice. That sounds ideal having a giant container to do a volume like that. I wish I had that kind space. If I read your reply a month ago I would be thinking this dude is a hardcore stiller. But now I'm starting to think that a setup like yours might be normal to be doing this at all.
spiff
Swill Maker

Post by spiff »

So, just curious, how many of your 45 bucket to you have going at once?
UnSub
Site Donor