Tractor Supply Cracked Corn

Production methods from starch to sugars.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Boda Getta
Site Donor
Site Donor

Tractor Supply Cracked Corn

Post by Boda Getta »

I have been using TS Cracked Corn for several years in my standard 70/16/14 wheated bourbon grain bill and had good luck with it. The pieces in their cracked corn is pretty small and fairly uniform but I run it thru a MM2. It ends up a mixture of corn meal and corn flour I understand the smaller the corn the better the conversion, but the problem is it is a bitch to separate the fermented wash and grain. My question is how much would I be giving up to use the cracked corn right out of the bag and add enzymes in addition to the malted barley (I want to continue the malt for the taste).
Any suggestions, advice greatly appreciated.

BG
fizzix
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Tractor Supply Cracked Corn

Post by fizzix »

Sorry I can't answer the question directly.
But before you give up on the meal flour, I recommend a wringer mop bucket and paint strainer bag.
wringerBucket.jpg
I use pulverized corn meal (from a blender) all the time. The bucket is quick and efficient,
and the spent grain is moist, not drenched when it's thrown out.

Just a recommendation.
Boda Getta
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Boda Getta »

Just ordered a similar setup from Walmart and waiting for my next ferment.
While on the subject, I have been thinking for the last several years about getting an old washing machine, lining the basket with screen wire and using the spin cycle and use centrifugal force to separate the liquid. One problem is I don't have the room (I don't think the wife would let me use hers....)

BG
ShineonCrazyDiamond
Global moderator

Post by ShineonCrazyDiamond »

When I use corn meal for my recipe, I get 1.065. When I use cracked corn same recipe, 1.055.
"Come on you stranger, you legend, you martyr, and shine!
You reached for the secret too soon, you cried for the moon.
Shine on you crazy diamond."