Fermentation and Airlock question

Production methods from starch to sugars.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Frosty36
Novice

Fermentation and Airlock question

Post by Frosty36 »

Hi all,
So i started a batch of apple brandy about a week and a half ago. Sunday will be 2 weeks completely. I'm using a simple bread yeast and taking gravity readings every couple of days. At first the airlock bubbled then pushed all the water to one side. I know this is considered normal, but my question is how do you know when its done if there is no activity in the airlock? I'm still learning all of this but I was told that once the gravity is holding steady for 2 days its ready? Any truth to this?
If i put my ear to the fermenting bucket I can hear it working ( sounds like pop- its going off).

Thanks in advance
Expat
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Fermentation and Airlock question

Post by Expat »

What you are hearing is bubbles breaking the surface. This may be a sign of activity or just CO2 dissolved in the wash coming out of solution.

Generally, if the airlock has stopped showing activity, and your gravity is down around 1.00 then it's done. If you taste the wash it should be tart not sweet.

If it's not zero, check the PH and temperature; they may give you a hint as to if/why the wash has stalled.

Finally, depending on ingredients, it may be that not all sugars in the wash are fermentable, so you won't get an FG of 1. My limited experience with apples suggests that they generally do ferment well leaving nothing behind, so probably not that.

Current boiler and pot head
Cross flow condenser
Modular 3" Boka - pics tbd

Post by Frosty36 »

Thanks for the response. The last reading was sitting right at 1.01 so I'm thinking she may be ready.

How soon after its complete does it need to be ran? Just asking bc work keeps me pretty busy.
Expat
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Expat »