K1-V1116 and ec1118 fermentation speed

Production methods from starch to sugars.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Slivovitz
Site Donor
Site Donor

K1-V1116 and ec1118 fermentation speed

Post by Slivovitz »

I've got five gallons of damson plums with ec-1118 and four or five gallon with k1-v1116.

Both are under airlock in a Carboy type fermenter and have almost two weeks elapsed at this point. It's been stored inside the house around 75 degrees constantly. Both of them are for men stopped bubbling and showing signs of fermentation a few days ago. I used a refractometer two tests and both were roughly 1.050.

Both wine tasted great but it's safe to say there's more sugar to ferment as they are not dry tasting.

I've never used either of these yast before without adding sugar to a must. This time I just liquefied the fruit and let the natural yeast go a few days before pitching the commercial yeast.

I put the cap back on both carboys gave them a vigorous stirring and late shaking. Both of them formed a new cap after several hours. There was some almost immediate bubbling but that seems to have slowed down now about 24 hours later.

Should I let them go like this or try to get a little bit more yeast started in a nice warm environment with a couple ounces of Plum juice?

I don't think it would be a good idea to cook it on Pulp at this specific gravity. Plus that indicates roughly a 5% wine when the yeast is tolerant to 17% or more. Starting gravity was 1.085 current gravity 1.050

This is important because I have 45 to 50 gal of the same plums in a barrel which were on natural yeast fermentation for 5 days this cap was third in a few times. Then k1-v1116 was added on day 6 or 7 which formed an ice cap and is still bubbling away. The specific gravity in that Barrel is also 1.050 after about eight days.
subbrew
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: K1-V1116 and ec1118 fermentation speed

Post by subbrew »