Do certain grains hold less liquid?

Production methods from starch to sugars.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Ridgeback816
Novice

Do certain grains hold less liquid?

Post by Ridgeback816 »

So my question for all the people who know considerably more than me is do certain grains hold more liquid? I am still fairly new at this hobby and I am on my 4th all grain mash. The others all have been some combination of rye wheat and barley with just a handful of oats mixed in. Things have been fairly consistent squeezing the grains to get the liquid out I normally have 14 gallons of water and 32 lbs of grain to which I get 12 gallon of cleared mash to run. I most recently read a thread on oats from tractor supply and figured I'd give it a shot. I mashed in 50lbs (the entire bag) with 21 gallons of water. I wish I could give details on the mash process but I broke my hydrometer and was flustered enough not to take notes. It did ferment dry down to 1.003 and after squeezing I only ended up with 15 gallons!?!? Is it normal for oats to hold more liquid than rye wheat and barley?I am looking for to other people's imput. I use an old cider press to squeeze my grains.
20220510_130613.jpg
Salt Must Flow
Distiller

Re: Do certain grains hold less liquid?

Post by Salt Must Flow »

Were these crimped oats? From all the pics I've seen, crimped oats are nearly entirely whole grain except slightly cracked. They are likely holding more mash in comparison to smaller bits from milled grains. You could potentially end up with less yield in the end due to less gelatinization & conversion happening too.

I can buy whole oats and have it milled for me at my local feed mill, but when they mill it, it's almost like flour.
Ridgeback816
Novice

Post by Ridgeback816 »