My first still

Many like to post about a first successful ferment (or first all grain mash), or first still built/bought or first good run of the still. Tell us about all of these great times here.
Pics are VERY welcome, we drool over pretty copper 8)

Moderator: Site Moderator

Garouda
Swill Maker

My first still

Post by Garouda »

Hybrid LM/VM
Hybrid LM/VM
Hello
I'm not really a newbie, but a member who does not publish a lot.
When I was ten years old I was a boarder and before leaving home, I mixed some water with yeast and brown cane sugar. Back home for holiday, I set up a kind of still made of glassware I could find. Result, the glass was not fire resistant, but for a few second I could smell something that reminded me to the smell of rhum pancakes my mother prepared for my father...
Later (1979-I was born in 1952...) I managed to buy a book we could not find in my country (I'm Belgian and live and work now in Thailand)
Technologie der Obstbrennerei written in German bei Pieper, Bruchmann and Kolb. How I got the book is another story. But it's a great book.
Now I'm about to retire and fortunately, my wife owns some paddies and rubber plantations in a quite remote place. I'm about to build a still and would like to know your critics about my project... I would like to build a versatile still. Reflux and fractionning using Liquid Management to get rid of the foreshots and heads and vapour management for mass production of good stuff.
For flavoured stuff, I will replace the head by an elbow and remove the packing. By the way, do some of you use cuts of copper pipe as rashig rings to fill the column?
In my plans, the column (Ø 3'') will be 1m high (+ the sight glass, + the Tee) and there will be a 23-centimetre double coil above the slanter plates.