My first Sweet Feed wash!!

Many like to post about a first successful ferment (or first all grain mash), or first still built/bought or first good run of the still. Tell us about all of these great times here.
Pics are VERY welcome, we drool over pretty copper 8)

Moderator: Site Moderator

Bootlegger
Novice

My first Sweet Feed wash!!

Post by Bootlegger »

So I started my first ever wash 2 days ago and it is bubbling away nicely :D I followed Kentucky shinners sweet feed recipe to the t and love the turn out so far. Since I'm a newbie I didn't have a hydrometer to check my sg :( Good news though it will be in my mailbox today when I get home from work. 1st question is can I open my fermentation bucket today to check it to see what is in now? I know it won't be my sg but I just want to check on it. I have a small 1 gallon still and my wash is only 5 gals, so my 2nd question is how should I run it low and slow(spirit run) or fast and hot(striping run)? i have done a lot of reading and have a lot more to do, But I haven't found a lot of info on small stills. This will be my first run on my own wash, I have ran all my cleaning runs and am anxiously awaiting my airlock to quit bubbling so I can run it!! Thanks in advance for any help and sorry if my terminology is off. Remember I am a newbie :P
Rain Distillate
Swill Maker

Re: My first Sweet Feed wash!!

Post by Rain Distillate »

Did you do a sacrificial run with mash or wine yet?