My first attempt at making Brandy

Many like to post about a first successful ferment (or first all grain mash), or first still built/bought or first good run of the still. Tell us about all of these great times here.
Pics are VERY welcome, we drool over pretty copper 8)

Moderator: Site Moderator

papstoker
Novice

My first attempt at making Brandy

Post by papstoker »

Hi there

I'm pretty new to this hobby - been stilling for a bit over a year and have been having fun. My rums have been good, whiskeys goodish and I have a very sippable Plum brandy on oak and a few gins and sugar washes and even one rice wash under the belt. What I have been eager to try though, is a real grape brandy (cognac?). Its just about the national drink here in SA, but surprisingly, I struggled to find affordable grapes. That all changed 2 weeks ago when I discovered the Johannesburg fresh produce market and got my hands on 18kg of seedless Sugro(?) white grapes. The cost was about 25% of the greengrocer price so I was pretty pleased. (R7.00, or about $0.5 US per kilo)

I was surprised to find little mention of grape Brandy here on HD. Lots of fruit brandies, and lots of grappa, but scanty info on grapes. I'm flying a bit blind here, so any suggestions will be very welcome.

Question: what grapes should REALLY be used for making brandy? White? Red. A friend of mine suggested Chenin, but I couldn't find much info on the net.

I juiced the 18kg grapes that evening and it yielded 13.5 kg of juice. My still takes 20l, so I added 6.5l water and 1kg sugar (I know...next time I'll go all purist and ferment only grapes) I used a Oscar juicer on its lowest setting (least pure juice). The final SG was about 1.065 after water and sugar.